Skip to main content

Facebook  |  ☎️ 01787 277423  |  📠 01787 278390 | 📧

  • Early Years Foundation Stage

    Early Years Foundation Stage

(EYFS/Reception/Acorn Class)
The children in the Foundation Stage follow a curriculum designed to enable them to attain the ‘Early Learning’ Goals for their age. There are seven areas of learning and development. All areas of learning and development are important and inter-connected. Three areas are particularly crucial for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, and for building their capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive.

These three areas, the prime areas, are:
• Communication and language;
• Physical development; and
• Personal, social and emotional development.

There are also four specific areas, through which the three prime areas are strengthened and applied.
The specific areas are:
• Literacy;
• Mathematics;
• Understanding the world; and
• Expressive arts and design

We are using the new national curriculum (2014) as the basis for the new curriculum which we are developing. We use a cross-curricular approach to deliver much of the teaching whilst there is appropriate emphasis on developing key skills. Pupils are encouraged to generate questions about their learning which they would like to find the answers to.